Former speaker, eight other Kano assembly lawmakers dump PDP for NNPP

Nine members of the opposition’s Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Kano State House of Assembly on Friday announced their defection to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The nine defected members are among the 13 ardent followers of Kwankwasiyya movement at the state house of assembly.

Their defection came a few weeks after the leader of the movement and two-term governor of Kano State Engr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso left the PDP for NNPP.

Speaker of the assembly Hamisu Ibrahim Chederi said the former PDP lawmakers cited the polarising leadership tussle rocking the PDP at both state and national levels as major reason for their decision.

The affected lawmakers include former speaker of the state assembly and member representing Gezawa constituency, Rt Hon. Isyaku Ali Danja; member representing Nassarawa Constituency, Hon. Umar Musa Gama and his counterpart from Ungogo constituency, Hon Aminu Sa’adu Ungogo.

Othhers were Hon Lawan Hussain Chediyar ‘Yan Gurasa, member representing Dala Constituency, Hon. Tukur Muhammad, representing Fagge Constituency, Hon. Mu’azzam El-Yakub, Dawakin Kudu Constituency and Hon. Garba Shehu Fammar Member, representing Kibiya Constituency.

Hon. Abubakar Uba Galadima, representing Bebeji Constituency; Hon Mudassir Ibrahim Zawaciki, from Kumbotso Constituency were also part of the defectors.

There is love in Sharing

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.